Review: The Guest List by Lucy Foley

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

Release Date: March 19, 2020

51933429

Synopsis

The bride – The plus one – The best man – The wedding planner  – The bridesmaid – The body

On an island off the coast of Ireland, guests gather to celebrate two people joining their lives together as one. The groom: handsome and charming, a rising television star. The bride: smart and ambitious, a magazine publisher. It’s a wedding for a magazine, or for a celebrity: the designer dress, the remote location, the luxe party favors, the boutique whiskey. The cell phone service may be spotty and the waves may be rough, but every detail has been expertly planned and will be expertly executed.

But perfection is for plans, and people are all too human. As the champagne is popped and the festivities begin, resentments and petty jealousies begin to mingle with the reminiscences and well wishes. The groomsmen begin the drinking game from their school days. The bridesmaid not-so-accidentally ruins her dress. The bride’s oldest (male) friend gives an uncomfortably caring toast.

And then someone turns up dead. Who didn’t wish the happy couple well? And perhaps more important, why?

Goodreads

Order The Guest List here: Kindle  Nook  

Review 

Whoa, what a ride! I really enjoyed this story.
I don’t read a lot of mysteries/thrillers but I think the author did an amazing job with this one. She definitely kept me guessing who was the killer, at one point I was sure it was one character and then two pages later I was sure it was another. It came to a point that anyone could have been the killer.

I have to say that I did guess who was the victim before the end, but I wasn’t completely sure until the very end.
I enjoyed the slow burn story telling, loved the haunted/remote Irish island atmosphere and the multiple POVs, in my opinion, really helped to build up the tension. There was so much history between the characters and there a lot of clues along the way. I couldn’t stop reading!
Overall, a very entertaining book, with twists and turns, twisted characters and a strong Clue game vibe.

Rating

                                  cup  cup  cup  cup

5 thoughts on “Review: The Guest List by Lucy Foley

Add yours

  1. Sounds like an interesting thriller 🙂 I read her first one and I enjoyed that too so I’m definitely keen to pick this one up. I remember with her first book I was guessing whodunit up until the very end and never got it right once 😂 I’ll probably end up doing the same thing with this one lol great review!

    Like

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑