First Lines Friday: September 3

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?  If you want to make your own post, feel free to use or edit the banner above, and follow the rules below:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page

  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

  • Finally… reveal the book!


FIRST LINE(S)

Death arrived at twilight.

Do you recognize the book?

Confused Will Smith GIF

Image result for gifs wondering

Random Winona Ryder GIF

Chloe Moretz What GIF

Image result for gifs confusion

Think Evil Queen GIF

Image result for gifs confusion

The book is:

54565480. sy475

Synopsis

From bestselling Australian author Lynette Noni comes a dark, thrilling YA fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir.

Here at Zalindov, the only person you can trust is yourself.

Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting for survival in the notorious death prison, Zalindov, working as the prison healer.

When the Rebel Queen is captured, Kiva is charged with keeping the terminally ill woman alive long enough for her to undergo the Trial by Ordeal: a series of elemental challenges against the torments of air, fire, water and earth, assigned to only the most dangerous of criminals.

Then a coded message from Kiva’s family arrives, containing a single order: Don’t let her die. We are coming. Aware that the Trials will kill the sickly queen, Kiva risks her own life to volunteer in her place. If she succeeds, both she and the queen will be granted their freedom.

But no one has ever survived.

With an incurable plague sweeping Zalindov, a mysterious new inmate fighting for Kiva’s heart, and a prison rebellion brewing, Kiva can’t escape the terrible feeling that her trials have only just begun.


That first line… is AMAZING! The Prison Healer was on my TBR in August, unfortunately I didn’t get to it, but I included it again in my September TBR and I’m definitely going to read it this month. I only read the prologue and I’m super hyped to read more of it.

Have you read it? Is it on your TBR? Share it with me in the comments.

Xoxo,

Andie

9 thoughts on “First Lines Friday: September 3

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: