Blog Tour, Interview & Giveaway: Center Ice by Cate Cameron

Center Ice Blog Tour

Center Ice by Cate Cameron

Release Date: May 19, 2015

Series: Corrigan Falls Raiders #1

Publisher: Entangled Crush

Synopsis:

The hometown hockey hero won’t know what hit him…

Karen Webber is in small-town hell. After her mother’s death, she moved to Corrigan Falls to live with strangers—her dad and his perfect, shiny new family—and there doesn’t seem to be room for a city girl with a chip on her shoulder. The only person who makes her feel like a real human being is Tyler MacDonald.

But Karen isn’t interested in starting something with a player. And that’s all she keeps hearing about Tyler.

Corrigan Falls is a hockey town, and Tyler’s the star player. But the viselike pressure from his father and his agent are sending him dangerously close to the edge. All people see is hockey—except Karen. Now they’ve managed to find something in each other that they both desperately need. And for the first time, Tyler is playing for keeps…

Center Ice Cate Cameron

Add To GoodReads

Order the book at: Amazon Kindle  BN nook  Kobo  ibooks

Interview with Cate Cameron

Where did the inspiration for Center Ice come from?

When I get ideas for stories I type them up really quickly on my computer and then put them all in a folder so I can sort through them and pick one when it’s time to write a new book. And I try to give the files titles that are fairly evocative so I’ll be able to understand the story at a glance.

For this idea, my file title was “Self-Insert Meets Hockey Tim Riggins”. Now, Karen isn’t really much of a self-insert character, but I think I meant that she’s a pretty ordinary girl, a bit feisty, a bit unsure of herself, but basically decent. And Tim Riggins? If any of you have not yet enjoyed Taylor Kitsch in Friday Night Lights, you should stop reading this interview and get over to your television set! Tim is rough and a bit crude, sensual and soft-hearted, and he is very, very slutty. Tyler from Center Ice isn’t nearly as rough as Tim, but he’s a good-looking kid who hasn’t seen any reason to not take advantage of his good looks or of the women who are drawn to him. He’s been so busy worrying about hockey and his family and all his responsibilities – it’s been good to have one area of his life where he can cut loose. But then he meets Karen, and realizes that his past might not be something he can just walk away from.

Do you listen to music as you write?  What do you listen to?

I don’t usually listen to music because I find the words distract me. But if I’m stuck, I have a rule that I’m not allowed to walk away from the computer unless I’m going to do something I really don’t enjoy – which, in my case, means cleaning or exercising. So while I’m doing my non-enjoyable task, I’ll blast music to get me energized and inspired, and usually that’s the music that my characters would likely listen to.

For Center Ice, I don’t think I got stuck too often, so I didn’t really have a playlist picked out!

What book(s) are currently on your nightstand or ereader?

I’m currently working through the Downside Ghosts series by Stacia Kane. I really like that the heroine is damaged and far from perfect, but mostly I’m reading for Terrible. Stupid name, but great character other than that!

What are you working on next?

I’m actually working on the sequel to Center Ice! This one’s called Playing Defense and it’s about Chris Winslow falling for his tutor, Claudia. I really loved writing Chris in Center Ice, so it’s been totally fun to get to spend a whole book with him. Claudia is really uptight and serious, and Chris has been great for getting her to relax a little and just have some fun.

About the Author

Cate Cameron grew up in the city but moved to the country in her mid-twenties and isn’t looking back. Most of her writing deals with people living and loving in small towns or right out in the sticks – when there aren’t entertainment options on every corner, other people get a lot more interesting!
She likes to write stories about real people struggling with real issues. YA, NA, or contemporary romance, her books are connected by their emphasis on subtle humor and characters who are trying to do the right thing, even when it would be a lot easier to do something wrong.

Find Cate Cameron online:

goodreads  twitter  facebook

The Giveaway

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Tour Organized by:

YA Bounk Tour Button

Leave a Reply

