Review: Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles

Stupid Girl Cindy Miles

Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles

Series: Stupid in Love

Release Date:  May 13, 2014

Publisher:  TKA Distribution

Order the book at:  Amazon Kindle  BN nook  Kobo

Book description: 

Only fools fall in love…

After her senior year of high school leaves behind nothing but heartache, Olivia Beaumont is sure of this: She’s no stupid girl. She sets out for Winston University, promising herself that she will remain focused on her first and only love – astronomy. But all it takes is cocky sophomore Brax Jenkins and an accidental collision with a football, to throw her entire year off course.
A quick-tempered Southie who escaped the inner city streets of Boston to pitch for Winston, Brax is known to play way more fields than just the baseball diamond. So, when his name is drawn to take part in his fraternity’s hazing dare, Brax eagerly accepts the mission to take Olivia’s virginity. But he doesn’t plan on falling hard for the sweet and sassy Texas girl who sees right through his bad-boy persona.
As Olivia and Brax battle their feelings for each other, echoes of the past year begin to surface. A boy who once turned Olivia’s whole world upside down reappears, and “harmless” pranks wreak havoc. Pretty soon the aspiring astronomer is on the verge of revealing her most difficult, heartbreaking secret. All the while, Brax must wrestle with the irrevocable dare, and Olivia struggles against all logic as she does the one thing only a stupid girl would do: fall in love.

Review [possible spoilers]:

I’ve got a copy of Stupid Boy, book 2 of this series, through NetGalley and before I started reading I thought that I should check out Stupid Girl at least for some background, so I ordered it from Kobo. And that got me here in a large pool of mixed feelings.

I’m not saying I hated it because it’s not true but I have to say that there might have been some annoyance while I was reading it. Why am I reviewing the book? Because this is probably the hardest review I’ve done so far and I just can’t back away from it.

I actually loved how the book started,  a raw and strong scene and it set my expectations really high for the book. And then not so many pages ahead, the first time Olivia and Brax met, or bumped, ruined my expectations. Because I can’t quite understand how a girl who suffered what Olivia suffered, even though it’s been a year, could date this guy after the whole I kissed you because “It was natural hot-blooded male gut instinct”. What? It just sounds off. Apart from that and the annoying thing she keeps doing regarding Brax’s accent, I really liked Olivia, she stayed true to herself during the book, keeping her focus in her interests and even sharing the passion for astronomy with Brax. But Brax really ruined the book for me. I get that he came from a bad background, that he was marked by his past but I still can’t understand all the violence. He was always black and blue and way too ready to throw his fists at anyone that crossed his path. I totally understand the scenes he beats up Kelsey but Noah and Ash? Please. I also think that the reason why Brax had to stay away from Olivia, was a little unrealistic, maybe even forced.

I also loved Olivia’s grandpa and I really liked her roommate Tessa, especially her bluntness, it was definitely refreshing. So, going for book 2 and hoping it’s better than Stupid Girl.

Rating:  cup  cup

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

